I’ve got an award!

wordpress-family-award2

Despite my erratic blogging and difficulty finding the time and self-belief to write, of late. a lovely reader has given me the honour of nominating me for a WordPress Family Award. As I understand it, this award celebrates the WordPress community and is a way of showing appreciation for each other’s work and words. Thank you so much Jenness Johnston for nominating me! I am so lucky.

Although I have always been a bit of a blogger-in-denial (that is, I love blogging but tend to throw my words out there while trying not to think where they will fall – something to do with writer’s block) and therefore have so much more blog reading to do, as part of my acceptance of this award I will nominate 10 inspirational bloggers who deserve to have their work read and appreciated:

1) Lipstick and Teeth. My close friend and political ally. The person who used lipstick in the title of her blog before I did and I was, like, ‘damn’! A person whose posts, although not frequent, are of such great quality that they always impress and inspire me. I highly recommend subscribing to her feed. Katherine, it’s you.

2) Another Visual Diary. A truly inspirational, never-relenting artist who keeps blogging and producing zines and charging around Leipzig and London on her long board. A fierce feminist and a beautiful person who has made me feel supported in my writing and inspired me to continue. Do check her photo diary out.

3) The Flannel Files is my favourite blog title yet. This butch lesbian approaches writing and life in a way that I really identify with.

4) Pankhearst is an independent writer’s collective with a dark sense of humour. I find it hard to summarise what it’s about and – you know what? – I don’t care. Each post speaks to interests I didn’t even know I had.

5) This one-woman SexEd blog is inspiring both because I admire its creator and because it has some truly fascinating and helpful information about sex on it. I love geeking out about these things!

6) A blog that addresses questions of being trans and/or queer, I like CN Lester most when they posts controversial material that sparks discussion between the gays. Like all these blogs, CN deserves this award for consistent, high quality, content.

7) OMG those feminists are funny! Your Monthly Periodical is a collective magazine-style blog that writes witty commentary on pretty much everything.

8) One of the first blogs I started following, I held Discipline and Anarchy up as a model of flawless writing and thought-provoking content. It doesn’t shy away from the controversial and I try to emulate that in Diary.

9) Sheesh! So much talent, such a big internet. Stop! Talking is another angry feminist blog that I just L.U.R.V.E.

10) Never afraid to shine a critical eye on the queer community, A Radical TransFeminist has some great info. I dare you to read it.

12 thoughts on “I’ve got an award!

  1. prayingforoneday

    I Wondered why I got a ping back there, lol…
    You linked the award back to me 🙂
    Well done. I love to see this award fire all around Word Press..
    These were my reasons for creating this award:

    “This is an award for everyone who is part of the “Word Press Family” I start this award on the basis that the WordPress family has taken me in, and showed me love and a caring side only WordPress can. The way people take a second to be nice, to answer a question and not make things a competition amazes me here. I know I have been given many awards, but I wanted to leave my own legacy on here by creating my own award, as many have done before. This represents “Family” we never meet, but are there for us as family. It is my honour to start this award”

    I now look at everyone here as being part of my Word Press Family. People I may never meet for real, but will have an impact on my life in some way.

    More love, Less hate..

    Shaun

    x

    1. Lipstick Terrorist

      Yes, that’s why I love this award too. It fosters community and mutual appreciation rather than keeping us in a competition to get the most hits, as you say. Thanks for creating it! I’ve been enjoying the interactions that have come from it. 🙂

      Peace out!

      Laura

      1. prayingforoneday

        Simply to say “I may never meet you, but you are like family” 🙂 I JUST got nominated for my own award by a woman I love so much on here and am picked 10 people now..
        What are the chances 🙂

        More love, Less hate..

        Shaun x

      2. prayingforoneday

        Thank you..
        Family we will never meet..There are some AMAZING people here..So I just wanted to say “Thanks” for being there through my pain and my shit..We all get it..On here, people care..

        Thank you
        More love, less hate..
        Shaun x

  2. yourothermotherhere

    Congratulations! This is one I’ve never seen before, so they have given your a double honor.

  3. Pingback: I’ve got an award! | SEXed

    1. Lipstick Terrorist

      You’re welcome! It has been a really positive experience, sending all that appreciation out there. Thanks so much for reading 🙂

  4. Pingback: // back / play / forward / p a u s e | anothervisualdiary

Leave a Reply

